Day 2 at Berkeley

21Jun06

Apologies for not posting yesterday (which would have been my first day at Berkeley, and hence a more appropriate post). I spent the day sleeping in. This past week was more sleep/food-deprived than I’d have liked on account of grading finals, moving out, and preparing for graduation.

At any rate, the combination of long nights and a very long sleep have made me feel like my time at Stanford was much further in my past than it actually is. I guess it didn’t hurt that I was eager to leave Stanford behind (did you hear that, Stanford Fund?).

But that’s another day’s discussion. Today I started my supersymmetry reading at the UCB main library. Despite not having public internet access (this is relevant since I’m not officially a UCB student), I was impressed by the study space. After a while, however, I got hungry and went back to my studio to have lunch. This was roughly my routine at Stanford, but getting around by foot slows down the pace a little and makes things slightly more peaceful.

Today I also discovered the Berkeley Farmer’s Market, which was just pure delight. I enjoyed the R&B band and the friendly blueberry farmers from Fresno and was able to purchase some ingredients for my famous Tomato-Lemon Egg-Drop Ramen soup. Along the way I discovered a couple of movie theaters and some stationary stores. It’s a shame that none of the stationary stores here carry buff engineering computation pads, but I’ve stocked up on enough of those to last me for a while.

Tomorrow I will try to make it to the “4D” phenomenology seminar up in LBL. Apparently the name is a joke started by Prof. Jackson, who wanted to distinguish it from stringy seminars that dealt with 10+ dimensions.

I will also work on categorizing my posts in the future.



2 Responses to “Day 2 at Berkeley”

  1. 1 Kim Jackson

    Hi, Flip.

    I noticed that you said that you had stocked up on buff engineering computation pads. I will be starting graduate school at the University of Kansas in the spring and I would love to stock up on them as well. Any thoughts on where I can purchase them online?
    Hope to hear from you soon.
    -Kim

  2. Hi Kim, sorry for the delay in my response. I haven’t found a reliable place online to purchase the buff engineering pads. When I run out of my stockpile, my plan is to call the Stanford Bookstore and place a mail-order. They almost always have it in stock and, at least, have it on their inventory list. They ship other items, so I suspect it would be possible for them to ship them to you as part of a special order.

    Your other option would be to try to purchase it directly from the manufacturer (or ask them where you could find it online). The details are as follows: Roaring Spring Paper Products. “Engineer Calculation Pad.” Buff paper, 5 square grid pad. #95182.

    Hope that helps! Let me know how it turns out.



