Paddington Bear

21Jul06

I never watched or read Paddington Bear as a child, but I was first introduced when I met his likeness at the London Heathrow airport. I read his biography recently, and have elevated Paddington Bear to the number one acquaintance I’d like to make in the UK (just passing the last installment of Harry Potter, William Moseley, and Britain’s high energy theorists). Part of Paddington Bear’s biography reads:

The Browns were at the station to meet their daughter Judy when Mr. Brown spotted a bear sitting all alone on a suitcase, behind a pile of mail bags, close to the lost property office. The bear was wearing nothing but a hat and he had a label round his neck bearing the words “Please Look After This Bear. Thank You.”

I’m quite fond if his coat.



