Dorkified

31Oct06

I was recently reading through one of my favourite general relativity textbooks when I found an odd sticky note with the following cryptic words:

4 libram of constitution
1 black diamond
4 night dragons breath
1 lung juice cocktail
30 g.

I realized that the handwriting was not mine and tried to figure out what these things had to do with “perturbation theory and gravitational radiation.” Suddenly, it dawned on me that a year ago I had lent this book to a friend of mine. After a quick Google search, my suspicions were verified and yes, in fact, my GR book has had a sticky note with a World of Warcraft spell or something like that.

For those who are too cool to know what World of Warcraft (WoW) is, cheers. For those who are still too cool but not so cool as to be beyond curiosity, WoW is a multiplayer online computer game with no discernable ‘ending.’ In the past couple of years the gaming community has consumed the lives of countless poor souls, including many physicists who may otherwise have gone on to figure out quantum gravity. The difference between spending time playing WoW and studying physics, by the way, is the difference between dorkiness and geekiness.

That’s not to say that all WoW players are dorks… but I’ve lost contact with more than one friend because he/she had fallen beyond the WoW event horizon. A recent South Park episode (“Make love not Warcraft”) satirized World of Warcraft left my sides in stitches and included the following quote:

Rob Pardo: Whoever this person is, he has played World of Warcraft nearly every hour of every day for the past year and a half. Gentlemen, we are dealing with someone here who…has absolutely no life.
Blizzard executive
: How do you kill…that which has no life?

If you’ve ever ‘lost someone’ to Warcraft, you’d appreciate the humour.



