Those Fickle American Physicists

02Feb07

Overheard today in my department regarding American (poorly paraphrased by me) research interests:

Everyone in America is suddenly doing phenomenology. Every ten years American physicists follow a new trend. Here in Europe, we just kind of continue plodding along.

This was especially amusing because also recently overheard from an American in Trinity:

What? You can criticize my government, its foreign policy, the fact that my country can’t play football [soccer] … but you cannot say that American theoretical physics is dominated by string theory.



One Response to “Those Fickle American Physicists”

  1. 1 Boble

    Wow, great posts! I was trying to read through all of them but still have not been able to achive it so far. Really nice work. I will definitely be a consistant reader for them. Keep on!

    Since I was so into the stroris, I think I should leave some words here to show my appreciation^_^



