An American Physics Student in … Wales

25Mar07

This post is unrelated to academia or physics. Sorry.

I’ve spent the past week in Wales as part of a group of Marshall scholars. We had a full programme of events and were able to attend presentations by the Welsh Assembly Government and the universities of Cardiff and Swansea. We were also treated to a `Medieval banquet’ at the Castle Undercroft in Cardiff and a tour of the Millennium Stadium (where Wales defeated England in rugby last week).

The trip was organised by the Welsh Assembly Government, to which I am ever greatful. I hope to return to Wales in the near future to more properly explore this country within the UK.

As a souvenier, I purchased a new friend from the gift shop at the National Waterfront Museum in Swansea: a plush sheep that I’ve named Cymru (the Welsh word for Wales). Sheep outnumber people 4-1 in Wales and they definitely give the Welsh countryside a cuddly aspect. Anyway, here’s a brief slideshow of Cymru at St. Fagans Natural History Museum, which is an open-air `folk’ museum set in over a hundered acres of woodland:

[rockyou id=61443166&w=324&h=243]

My apologies for the lack of actual content in this post.🙂



4 Responses to “An American Physics Student in … Wales”

  1. 1 sherrienyc

    I think that Cymru should visit the town of Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch. Tiny wee sheep in a town with a big name.

  2. 2 fluffyllama25

    This is cute! How do you pronounce Cymru’s name?

  3. Hi Fluffyllama. I’ll be honest and say that I’ve been mispronouncing my sheep’s name as `Shamu,’ when the proper pronunciation of `Cymru’ is more like “Kumree.” (This was a deliberate mispronunciation to poke fun at our group of confused Americans.)

  4. 4 fluffyllama25

    Hah! That’s awesome. It’s a cute name once you actually understand how to say it.



