Dear Santa, I want an ILC.

23Dec07

Dear Santa,

I think I’ve been a reasonably good graduate student this year, so I’m hoping you’ll consider my requests for my pan-denominational holiday wish.

I was going to ask for a definitive signal of new physics at the LHC, but I am increasingly convinced that this is something I’ll save for next year’s letter. Keep it in mind, though, as I don’t think I’ll be the only one writing about it.

What I’d really like is an ILC. I’m more than happy to share it with the rest of the particle physics community (especially those clever experimentalists who can operate those sorts of things). I don’t need it right away, but it’s starting to look like it might never be built. My country’s particle physics community has placed its future in the hope that they may host the ILC. It would not be hyperbole to say that American particle physics would suffer significantly without this machine.

I understand that this is asking for a lot. A linear collider is a bit more difficult than anything your North Pole elves are used to constructing, let alone the problems of sleigh-transport to Batavia, Illinois. In the meanwhile, however, I promise to be a good graduate student, post-doc, and junior faculty as you figure out how to fit the ILC through Fermilab’s chimneys and Congress’ pork barrels.

Yours,
An American Physics Student in England

PS — If it’s not too much trouble, I’d also like a bag of Reese’s Pieces as they don’t seem to have them in the UK.



9 Responses to “Dear Santa, I want an ILC.”

  1. 1 hwasungmars

    Haha, looks like Santa has a huge homework to work on.

  2. 2 Jonathan Powell

    All I want for christmas is Scarlett Johansson.

  3. They sell Reese’s Pieces at Cybercandy ( http://www.cybercandy.co.uk/ ), a foreign candy shop here in London in Covent Garden. Next time you’re in the area, I’ll treat you! I got some last time I was there, coincidentally.

  4. Thanks for the tip Candace! Reese’s Pieces at a ‘foreign candy shop’? I feel like E.T.😉

  5. Hi Flip,

    thanks for asking for the ILC, so I can save my wish and associate to Jonathan… However, I will not be as tame. I want a Scarlett Johansson in every lab I visit, and one in my office too😉

    Cheers, and merry xmas,
    T.

  6. Jon (and perhaps also Tommasso) — at least MY wish has a nonzero chance of coming true.🙂

  7. Hi Flip:

    May all your wishes come true😉 Merry Christmas!

    -B.

  8. I join to the wish. Even if the LHC results become trivial (and they will be not), we strongly want a second opinion.


  1. 1 Symmetry Magazine: they missed Tommaso « An American Physics Student in England

