Autographed penguin diagram

02May08

I don’t usually do this. A native Los Angelino is too chill to ask for autographs, even from physicists [1]. However, when John Ellis came to Durham this week to give the 2008 Rochester Lecture, I couldn’t resist asking him to sign a copy of the original paper that introduced `penguin diagram’ into physics nomenclature. (Nucl. Phys. B131 (1977) 285) Prof. Ellis even drew a little penguin diagram!


I’ve spent most of this year calculating various penguin diagrams and including snarky penguin references in my conference talks [2], so it behooved me to get an autographed piece of penguin history. A nice etymology of the penguin diagram is available on the arXiv.

Notes

[1] Even though I don’t generally solicit autographs from faculty, I still get really excited to talk to movers-and-shakers in my field. (I suppose this can look unprofessional, so I try to hide it a little.) This made grad school visits really fun.🙂

[2] There’s a Marshall sendoff event in London in a couple of weeks where a few of the scholarship recipients are selected to present their research. I submitted a facetious talk title along the lines of “quantum penguins and the nature of antimatter” and was very amused that they decided to let me talk.




