`Brit Week’ in LA: watch a footba–er, soccer game?

05May08

I received the following promotional image in my e-mail today, and couldn’t help but share:

As part of `Brit Week‘ celebrations (commemorating 50 years of the British Consul General’s residence in Los Angeles) the British American Business Council has arranged a celebration of British culture in LA during the upcoming Los Angeles Galaxy footba… er, soccer match. The Galaxy, of course, are English football legend David Beckham’s current team [1]. For those in Los Angeles, here’s the blurb:

Come celebrate British Culture here in Los Angeles with a Showbiz Soccer game, live music by UK bands (the Delta Fiasco & i94), Grammy winner Steve Smith of Dirty Vegas spinning records, British Food and Drink, and a Major League game of Soccer between the Los Angeles Galaxy and the New York Red Bulls.

The event is this Saturday, 10 May (or “May 10” for Americans). Gates open at 4pm with the celebrity match and celebrations leading up to the 7:30pm Galaxy match. Tickets start at $35… that’s half the price of a ticket for a Laker playoff game.

This event almost makes me wish I were back home so I could get a head start on missing being in the UK.

Notes

[1] Because it was in part due to the of the generosity of the Los Angeles British Consulate that I’ve had the opportunity to spend time inthe UK, I’ve held my tongue about Beckham’s attempt to popularise American soccer. I will, however, permit you to let your imagination run wild with all sorts of witty commentary.



