Einstein can dunk

06Apr08

Einstein is widely recognized for his major contributions to physics, including brownian motion, the photoelectric effect, and relativity. A complete appreciation of his legacy, however, would also include a discussion of his creativity around the hoop, his ankle-breaking cross-overs, and a memorable 81-point performance in Toronto…


A relativistic cross-over.

Or, er… I suppose that’s actually NBA superstar Kobe Bryant dressed up as Albert Einstein for a recent commercial. After a bit of thought, though, I’d probably have to say that Einstein’s legacy and persona is best paralleled by Earvin “Magic” Johnson. I’m not sure which current physicist would best represent Kobe… though I’ll toss out Witten as a first approximation.

Anyway, I might be one of the few Lakers’ fans in the UK, but I do know that I’m not the only physicist to moonlight as a basketball fan on the blogosphere: see, e.g., posts on the NBA draft and the infamous string vs. pheno pickup game in Aspen. Both of those bloggers, by the way, are now locals in Laker-land. 🙂

More stills from the Kobe-Einstein commercial below the jump. (And it appears that Einstein can jump!)

The best quote of the commercial:

“It won’t help you master quantum physics, but it will get you in the zone “

As a middle school student in the 90s, I used to wonder why Kobe got rid of his signature ‘fro. I guess this answers that question.

There it is! Einstein rocking the rim.

Kobe says: “Hey, someone forgot to put the angle brackets on the inner product.”

I’m sure Einstein would also have drank Gatorade to replenish his electrolytes while pondering general relativity.

By the way, I might as well squeeze it in at the end: Kobe for MVP!



3 Responses to “Einstein can dunk”

  1. 1 cvj

    Well, given that I only noticed the other day that Shaquille O’Neal no longer plays for the Lakers, I don’t think I can be thought of as having an interest in (professional) basketball anymore… (Thanks for the link.)

    Cheers,

    -cvj

  2. 2 Bee

    OT: Hey Flip, I sent you an email the other day. If you didn’t receive it, check your junk folder, or let me know (I’ve occasionally had some server problems). Best, B.


  1. 1 Kobe as Einstein at Asymptotia