Moving on…

08Dec08

Hi everyone — I’ve still been getting a trickle of comments on this blog, which I find a little heart warming, but I wanted to let people know that this blog is now officially closed and there will be no further posts. My adventure in the UK ended in June and I’m now midway through my first year of a PhD in the US. (I’ll be back in the UK in April 2009 to attend the Beyond Part III conference and the SUSY breaking conference in Durham.)

For those who want to replace this blog with a more active RSS feed, might I humbly suggest the following physics-y blogs of similar flavo(u)r:

Take care, everyone!



4 Responses to “Moving on…”

  1. Hi,

    could you also add me in – NEQNET: Non-equilibrium Phenomena? We can also exchange links if you want.

    With best regards,
    Dmitry.

  2. 2 Chris

    Thank you for your blog – as a Brit who spent some time at Cal and now in my first year of a PhD in Cambridge (the original one), it’s great to see the other side of the story from someone who can both do maths and write well.

    See you at Beyond Part III

  3. 3 sina

    hi, i’m physics student in iran.i m in undergraduate course. iran in physics science is in bad time. so i want a plan of you to help and lead me. attention that for example we dont have solution for arfken and other good books and sometimes even itself. i choose this field that dont have any job future in iran and the only reason is my really willing.so please help.
    thanks

  4. I’m not sure how often you check your old blog, but I wanted to thank you for creating and adding to this blog. It has been enormously helpful to me in my own travels in physics and is far and away my favorite blog on the internet. As I am preparing for graduate school, I decided to pickup a couple of texts on QFT that you had recommended (specifically Peskin and Zee) and wanted to bring to your attention something that I found interesting.

    In the recently released second edition of “Quantum Field Theory in a Nutshell”, Zee wrote a Preface to this new edition in which he expresses gratitude to all of the glowing reviews he received on places like Amazon.com. His exact words are:

    “In working on this new edition, merely looking at the titles of the customer reviews on Amazon.com would lighten my task and quicken my pace: ‘Funny, chatty, physical. QFT education transformed!,’ ‘A readable, and re-readable instant classic on QFT,’ “A must read book if you want to understand essentials in QFT,’ ‘One of the most artistic and deepest books ever written on quantum field theory,’ ‘Perfect for learning field theory on your own,’ ‘Both deep and entertaining,’ ‘One of those books a person interested in theoretical physics simply must own,’ and so on.”

    For those following along at home, the second reviewer mentioned (the one who says the book is “A readable, and re-readable instant classic on QFT” was left on Amazon.com by our very own fliptomato, meaning he has been eternally immortalized (or at least for as long as the second edition is printed) in the pages of this great textbook. Just thought you might be interested.